Nantlle Valley History



Dinas Railway Station

Dinas is a station on the narrow gauge Welsh Highland Railway, which was built in 1877 as the North Wales Narrow Gauge Railway's Moel Tryfan undertaking to carry dressed slate for trans-shipment to the LNWR. Passenger services at the station ceased on 26 September 1936 until which time Dinas had been a joint station, known as Dinas Junction with the LNWR and later the LMS. Years later in December 1964, British Railways closed their part of the station and their entire line from Caernarfon to Afon Wen which was subsequently developed as the now very popular Lôn Eifion tourist cycle route which runs from Bryncir to Caernarfon.

When the station was reopened in October 1997, it was as the southern temporary terminus of the extended and to be restored Welsh Highland Railway from Caernarfon. The line was extended in August 2000, following the complete reconstruction of the railway on it original trackbed, to Waunfawr and in 2003 to Rhyd Ddu. Work started in 2005 on the final stage of reconstruction from Rhyd Ddu railway station to Beddgelert and Porthmadog; the train services are operated by the Ffestiniog Railway company.

At Dinas, the new narrow gauge platforms are built on the site of the former standard gauge platforms. Two buildings survive from the North Wales Narrow Gauge Railways era: the former goods shed and the original and carefully restored station building. Dinas station yards house the Welsh Highland Railway offices, carriage sheds and locomotive depot as well as extensive civil engineering works and sidings.

A Welsh Highland Railway train at Dinas station
Image: A Welsh Highland Railway train at Dinas station.

  Valid HyperText Markup Language (HTML) 4.01 Transitional Level A  compliance with the W3C's WCAC 1.0 Valid Cascading Style Sheets (CSS)